Skip to Content Find it Fast

This browser does not support Cascading Style Sheets.

Robert Frost Farm
Web site funded by:
Center for New England Culture

The 2016 Frost Farm Prize for Metrical Poetry
**Submissions are now closed.**
Check back in December 2016 when submissions open
for the 7th Annual Frost Farm Prize

The Trustees of the Robert Frost Farm in Derry, NH, and the Hyla Brook Poets invite submissions for the 6th Annual Frost Farm Prize for metrical poetry. Deadline is April 1, 2016.

The winner receives $1,000, publication in Evansville Review and an invitation, with honorarium, to read in June 2016 as part of The Hyla Brook Reading Series at the Robert Frost Farm. The reading opens the Frost Farm Poetry Conference, which is devoted to metrical poetry. The winner also receives a scholarship to attend the conference.

This yearís judge is David J. Rothman, Director of Western State Colorado Universityís Graduate Program in Creative Writing. He also directs the programís annual conference, Writing the Rockies, and is editor of Westernís national poetry and criticism journal, THINK. His most recent volumes of poetry, both of which appeared in 2013, are The Book of Catapults (White Violet Press) and Part of the Darkness (Entasis Press). Rothman will read every submitted poem.

Last yearís winner, judged by Joshua Mehigan, was Kevin Durkin of Santa Monica, Calif., for his poem, "Meteor Crater."

Submission guidelines and online entry are available at:

To learn more about the Frost Farm Prize or for more Frost Farm Poetry information, please visit or Facebook at or Twitter at

About the Frost Farm’s Hyla Brook Poets

The Frost Farm was home to the poet and his family from 1900-1911. The Hyla Brook Poets, a 501(c)(3), started in 2008 as a monthly poetry workshop. In March 2009, the Hyla Brook Reading Series launched with readings by emerging poets as well as luminaries such as Maxine Kumin, David Ferry, Linda Pastan, and Sharon Olds. The Frost Farm Prize was introduced in 2010, followed by the inaugural Frost Farm Poetry Conference in 2015.